The Session is the governing body of the church. First Church, like all Presbyterian churches, is a representative democracy. The word “Presbyterian” actually comes from the Greek word presbuteros which means “elder.”

We are governed by elders who are democratically chosen from and by the entire congregation. Governance and authority over church matters resides with these elected elders.

Elders make up the church’s governing body which is called the Session. Our Session oversees the day-to-day-work of the church and supervises the Deacons, who are elected to conduct the temporal and charitable ministry of the church, and the Trustees, who are elected to manage financial, legal and property affairs of the church.

The Session is composed of 24 ruling elders. Elders serve a three-year term.

Senior Pastor and Moderator: Jon M. Walton
Associate Pastor: Sarah Segal McCaslin
Executive Minister: Barbara E. Senecal-Davis
Clerk of Session: Betty C. Jones

Class of 2015 Class of 2016 Class of 2017
Sorrel Ann Alburger Nancy Crosby Elizabeth Post Bramlage
David H. Earle Layne Grindal Cornelius Edward Kennedy Brooks
Dave C. Garlow Alyson Grunder Kristen Campolattaro
Susan E. Jackson, Meg Harper Michael Clay
Patricia Nuñez John Houser Martha M. Ferry
Jooyeol Oh Chris Kulina Susan Korchak
Al Picallo Margaret McClure Conley Rollins
Wendy Williams Su Yon Pak Ryan C. Tirre